Page 1 of 1

Correction, my PockeTerm is NOT working... help!

PostPosted: Sep Mon 06, 2010 12:03 pm
by pitlog
I thought it was working because I got the menu on my screen and was able to change options from the keyboard, but once I got a straight through serial cable and hooked it up, I discovered that there was no communication with the host. Here's what I've found/tried:
  • All solder joints look good
  • Both voltage regulators showing good voltages
  • ICs appear to be seated in their sockets correctly and pointing in the right direction
  • The serial port on the host is working correctly at 9600 with a vt200 I have here
  • I've tried both standard and null modem header setups, though I'm using a standard cable
So what's next in the way of troubleshooting. I have a VOM and a logic probe, but no scope.

Any help?

Thanks,
Tom

Re: Correction, my PockeTerm is NOT working... help!

PostPosted: Sep Tue 07, 2010 5:54 am
by vbriel
turn the jumpers horizontal across the jumper instead of up and down and that creates a loopback. See if you can just type and what you type appears on the screen.

Re: Correction, my PockeTerm is NOT working... help!

PostPosted: Sep Tue 07, 2010 4:01 pm
by pitlog
Vince,

Thanks!

Yup, I can type just fine with the jumpers horizontal. What does that mean?

Tom

Re: Correction, my PockeTerm is NOT working... help!

PostPosted: Sep Tue 07, 2010 4:40 pm
by vbriel
This test confirms that the pocketerm is able to send and receive data. That was a loopback test. Your issue is either the cable is incorrect or the host port is different or bad. Make sure you are not setup on the host device for some type of hardware handshaking, make sure your baud rate matches and the host device must use 8 data bit and 1 stop bit. No flow control.

If you know the host device port works, I would start with the cable.

Vince

Re: Correction, my PockeTerm is NOT working... help!

PostPosted: Sep Tue 07, 2010 8:23 pm
by pitlog
Well now I'm pretty stumped. I tried it with three different cables on a known good port that a terminal works on quite well. As a matter of fact, I used the same null modem cable I used with the terminal and still no-go. I did remember to change the headers :)

The port is set up 9600/8/N/1 and uses the old xon/xoff flow control, which should work with any terminal, I suppose. <ctrl>S and <ctrl>P have no effect. Should it work like this?

Any other ideas before I try finding another cable to try out? I might have to buy one, but am ok with that if you can't think of anything else.

Thanks for your help, Vince!

Tom

Re: Correction, my PockeTerm is NOT working... help!

PostPosted: Sep Thu 29, 2011 11:40 am
by GHerzog
XON/XOFF? Look at the schematic, flow control lines are not supported. You have to bridge this feature with a jumper wire to get it to work OR turn off the XON/XOFF.