Who uses composite video as main video mode

Discuss the new Altair 8800 Micro

Who uses composite video as main video mode

Postby vbriel » Jul Mon 22, 2013 10:39 am

Since firmware 5.2 forces a choice between VGA and composite video, I'm just curious who uses composite video as their main source of video?
User avatar
vbriel
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1184
Joined: Jul Tue 19, 2005 1:10 pm
Location: Ohio

Re: Who uses composite video as main video mode

Postby draziw77 » Jul Tue 23, 2013 11:40 am

I use composite video since I have this monitor that I use for my Altair, Micro-Kim and Replica I :)
http://www.adafruit.com/products/947
draziw77
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Jul Wed 11, 2012 4:50 pm

Re: Who uses composite video as main video mode

Postby vbriel » Jul Tue 23, 2013 11:57 am

I have a similar TV monitor that I use when I'm doing shows and on the road. The only weird thing I found was that I have to turn on the TV after the computer so that the display doesn't roll. That's probably just my cheap eBay purchase of a TV.
User avatar
vbriel
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1184
Joined: Jul Tue 19, 2005 1:10 pm
Location: Ohio

Re: Who uses composite video as main video mode

Postby draziw77 » Jul Tue 23, 2013 3:35 pm

Perhaps.... I don't have that problem with that particular screen. The screen is just black and upon turning on the power of the retro system the screen refreshes and I am ready for some retro goodness!
draziw77
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Jul Wed 11, 2012 4:50 pm

Re: Who uses composite video as main video mode

Postby dessony » Jul Fri 26, 2013 7:18 pm

I am.... I'd like to know more about a composite video's voltage readings. One; with 11 + Aux up. One; none up.

Mine is with 11 and Aux up around 71.0 -- 73.3 VDC.
Mine is with none up around 56.9 -- 58.8 VDC.

All I get is "horizontal roll" or nothing on a screen with a digital tv hooked up.

How is an oscilloscope reading off these composite video?
dessony
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Aug Fri 24, 2012 6:57 pm
Location: Indiana

Re: Who uses composite video as main video mode

Postby waltermixxx » Apr Sun 26, 2015 12:41 am

Currently running 5.2, and using composite 7" lcd monitor with my Altair 8800micro Replica
waltermixxx
 
Posts: 86
Joined: Mar Mon 30, 2015 1:02 pm
Location: Toronto, Ontario


Return to Altair 8800 Micro

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron