Just bought a Altair 8800 Micro.

Discuss the new Altair 8800 Micro

Just bought a Altair 8800 Micro.

Postby Oddzball » Jun Wed 24, 2015 10:21 pm

Just thought I would share that after a brief email conversation between me and Mr Briel, I decided to pull the trigger and purchase a Altair 8800 Micro. I'll soon be finishing my CIS Degree in Computer Programming, and thought it would make a nice graduation present.

Glad to be part of the community though I hope some folks can show me around. I know a little on the Altair 8800 from a project I did explaining some of the first personal computers, but other then monkeying around with an emulator, I'm a total newbie to the system.

I opted to pay for it to be pre-assembled since while I can solder a little, I didn't trust my ability to get the job done. I also purchased the Ram Disk addon for the system.

A few questions I have while waiting on the computer is can anyone recommend a good VGA monitor that is small and compact for use with the system(7 inch or 10 inch ones?)? Also, does it come with some sort of PSU, or will I have to supply my own? If so what power supply would you all recommend?

I'm actually going to get it up and running and monkey around with making a few programs, maybe some games. I don't know Altair Basic, however I'm betting its not to difficult, and my electives for programming languages in college was C#, Java, and Assembly, as well as already knowing C++ pretty well, so I'm sure I will adapt.

I also need to find a nice good clunking PS2 keyboard for the thing.
Oddzball

Re: Just bought a Altair 8800 Micro.

Postby waltermixxx » Jun Thu 25, 2015 8:30 am

Welcome to the club. :)