Control panel...

What have you built or do you want to design to go with your replica 1

Control panel...

Postby fsafstrom » Aug Sat 18, 2007 2:29 am

Howdy...

I was looking at the Micro KIM and I like the idea of the push buttons and the 7 segments LED displays...
Makes it even more geeky to program than the "user friendly" Replica... ;-)
So I'm going to try and build one...

Not much so far, but I did get the push buttons down and hooked eight of them up to a 74HC165 shift register...
See if I can get a couple of IC sockets tomorrow and get the other 16 buttons hooked up as well... ;-)

I'll keep you posted...

Image

Code: Select all
Code removed 8/20 to save space...
Last edited by fsafstrom on Aug Mon 20, 2007 11:37 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
fsafstrom
 
Posts: 154
Joined: Dec Tue 26, 2006 3:57 pm
Location: San Antonio, Texas

Postby fsafstrom » Aug Mon 20, 2007 11:35 am

Got my LED segments hooked up... ;-)

Can you see what it spells out ???

Image
User avatar
fsafstrom
 
Posts: 154
Joined: Dec Tue 26, 2006 3:57 pm
Location: San Antonio, Texas

Postby cheese1113 » Aug Mon 20, 2007 11:44 am

rEPLICA1... That is so awesome!
Max Wooden
cheese1113
 
Posts: 92
Joined: Nov Sun 13, 2005 2:49 am
Location: CA

Postby choasruler5151 » Aug Tue 21, 2007 1:14 am

Nice work! 8)
Last edited by choasruler5151 on Aug Tue 12, 2008 12:17 am, edited 1 time in total.
choasruler5151
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Apr Wed 25, 2007 8:41 pm

Re: Control panel...

Postby vbriel » Aug Tue 21, 2007 7:12 am

fsafstrom wrote:Howdy...

I was looking at the Micro KIM and I like the idea of the push buttons and the 7 segments LED displays...
Makes it even more geeky to program than the "user friendly" Replica... ;-)
So I'm going to try and build one...



This is funny because I thought about doing an add-on board for the replica-1 that had the keypad and display of the KIM-1 and worked like a KIM-1 emulator. Because of the memory map of the KIM-1 it was too much trouble so I decided to just make it a seperate computer.

Vince
User avatar
vbriel
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1184
Joined: Jul Tue 19, 2005 1:10 pm
Location: Ohio

Postby fsafstrom » Aug Tue 21, 2007 12:26 pm

Well, this control panel will be far from compatible with the Micro Kim ;-)

I just got all 24 buttons hooked up and working...
Just for some fun, I added a "Joystick interface" for my old TAC-2 Joystick.
Picture and more details to come later tonight...

Let me comment and clean up the code tonight and post it in the Software forum.
That way I can avoid posting long listings in this forum... ;-)
User avatar
fsafstrom
 
Posts: 154
Joined: Dec Tue 26, 2006 3:57 pm
Location: San Antonio, Texas

Postby fsafstrom » Aug Wed 22, 2007 12:39 am

This is not too complicated actually...

I didn't post another picture since the board look the same, there is just two more IC's on it and a D-sub for the Joystick... ;-)
In stead I drew up a schematic on how the shift registers work...
The shift registers are ordinary 74HC165N and the two displays are HC4LED.
I got 5 of these for 20 bucks including s & h, so they are pretty affordable.
They are also very easy to control with only two wires for communication.
http://user.pa.net/~bean/hc4led/

I didn't bother to draw all 24 buttons, but only one.
The hookup are the same for the 23 other buttons, just hook them up to pin A-H on the three shift registers in the drawing...
Keep in mind that every button needs to have a separate resistor connected to V+, these are called pull up resistors.
This means that the buttons are active low and the data from the shift register is 1 when the button is open and 0 when pressed.
The PB0 to PB6 are pins 10-16 on the VIA 6522.

The code can be found here,
http://www.brielcomputers.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=271

New schematics 8/24, added a few buttons to make sense...
Image
User avatar
fsafstrom
 
Posts: 154
Joined: Dec Tue 26, 2006 3:57 pm
Location: San Antonio, Texas

Postby fsafstrom » Dec Fri 07, 2007 3:41 am

It's getting there...

Got the Control Panel to work and a small Kim-Monitor is up and running as well...
I got a few more ideas I want to implement, but it's late so it have to wait until tomorrow... ;-)

Head over to http://bamse.freehyperspace.com for the actual code.
Image
User avatar
fsafstrom
 
Posts: 154
Joined: Dec Tue 26, 2006 3:57 pm
Location: San Antonio, Texas

Postby fsafstrom » Dec Tue 11, 2007 12:23 am

Version 0.2 of the control panel...
The "PC" button became a "mode" button.
Hit the mode button and go into two byte mode, hit it again for one byte mode.
This means that the word for the particular address is shown in stead of the byte, very usefull for viewing and entering the Interrupt/Reset vector or pointers and such.

Head over to http://bamse.freehyperspace.com for the actual code.
User avatar
fsafstrom
 
Posts: 154
Joined: Dec Tue 26, 2006 3:57 pm
Location: San Antonio, Texas

Postby fsafstrom » Jan Wed 23, 2008 1:56 am

Just got my LCD display to work...
Pretty cool...

Still busy with another project, but I just felt that my Replica needed some attention... ;-)

Image
User avatar
fsafstrom
 
Posts: 154
Joined: Dec Tue 26, 2006 3:57 pm
Location: San Antonio, Texas

Postby fsafstrom » Feb Mon 04, 2008 1:05 am

Code for the LCD has been posted at http://bamse.freehyperspace.com...
User avatar
fsafstrom
 
Posts: 154
Joined: Dec Tue 26, 2006 3:57 pm
Location: San Antonio, Texas

Postby choasruler5151 » Jul Mon 28, 2008 2:42 am

Is the cable for your LCD display an ide floppy connector?
choasruler5151
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Apr Wed 25, 2007 8:41 pm

Postby fsafstrom » Jul Tue 29, 2008 1:19 pm

It's a 14 strand ribbon cable, I don't think that is the same as the floppy connector...

You can get these in electronic stores or on-line from Digikey or Jameco...
User avatar
fsafstrom
 
Posts: 154
Joined: Dec Tue 26, 2006 3:57 pm
Location: San Antonio, Texas


Return to Creation Room

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron