WizNet Ethernet...

What have you built or do you want to design to go with your replica 1

WizNet Ethernet...

Postby fsafstrom » Oct Sat 20, 2007 1:17 am

I stumbled over this design contest that gives out free samples...
http://www.circuitcellar.com/wiznet/sample.html

I filled out a request and stated,
"Interfacing a Replica 1 (Apple I clone) system with Internet."
as the reason...

Guess what, I got one in the mail today... ;-)
I'll have to download the docs and see what this thing can do...

Anyone else interested in getting the Replica 1 on-line ?
Just fill out the request...
User avatar
fsafstrom
 
Posts: 154
Joined: Dec Tue 26, 2006 3:57 pm
Location: San Antonio, Texas

Postby vbriel » Oct Sat 20, 2007 7:20 am

This is a little different than just a product sample requrest. The link is for a circuit cellar design contest if I read correctly. Are you entering the contest? $5000 top prize isn't bad.

Vince
User avatar
vbriel
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1184
Joined: Jul Tue 19, 2005 1:10 pm
Location: Ohio

Postby fsafstrom » Oct Sat 20, 2007 10:37 pm

Ken and I planning of making a TCP/IP stack...
I was looking into some hardware and stumbled over this site...
So we seem to have the hardware solution, "all" we need to do now is to implement the actual TCP/IP stack...

If we get something together in time, we'll submit an entry...
User avatar
fsafstrom
 
Posts: 154
Joined: Dec Tue 26, 2006 3:57 pm
Location: San Antonio, Texas

Postby vbriel » Oct Sat 20, 2007 11:47 pm

Except for writing the code, the device looks pretty straight forward. Obviously the hard part is the code. How far up the stack do you want to take it? Full browser, ftp, there are a lot of options. I would think ftp would be easier than creating some type of text browser, more useful too. I have to admit, it is a nice project. It appears that the hardware interface is straight forward, almost designed for the replica 1 :D

Vince
User avatar
vbriel
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1184
Joined: Jul Tue 19, 2005 1:10 pm
Location: Ohio

Postby fsafstrom » Oct Sun 21, 2007 1:07 am

I didn't read the specs too detailed before I requested a sample... ;-)

Turns out the module already have the TCP/IP Stack and all the protocols we need...
Even though it's a 3.3V module, it's 5V I/O tolerant, we don't even have to use a buffer...

It is more straight forward than I could imagined...

kewl...
User avatar
fsafstrom
 
Posts: 154
Joined: Dec Tue 26, 2006 3:57 pm
Location: San Antonio, Texas

Postby Kallikak » Oct Sun 21, 2007 3:05 am

Yes - that was a real find. I've got another week of travelling to get through yet, but hopefully when I return mine will be waiting for me... :-)

Ken
Kallikak
 
Posts: 172
Joined: Jan Sun 29, 2006 7:42 pm
Location: Sydney

Postby Kallikak » Nov Thu 08, 2007 9:19 pm

I was thinking of writing a simple http server - something along the lines described here: http://www.ddj.com/mobile/184404808

Ken
Kallikak
 
Posts: 172
Joined: Jan Sun 29, 2006 7:42 pm
Location: Sydney

Postby choasruler5151 » Nov Sat 24, 2007 11:29 pm

This caught my eye earlier today:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OMzgp7xTp1k&feature=related

Browsing the Web on an Apple II with Contiki
Quite interesting considering your tying to do a similar thing.
choasruler5151
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Apr Wed 25, 2007 8:41 pm

Re: WizNet Ethernet...

Postby Toolkitman » Nov Tue 09, 2010 5:00 pm

Hi,
I'm interested in connecting the replica 1 to internet, anyone can explain me how to make this and what kind of card i need, i have read in the post before of a connectionone mini wifi, is this card still on commerce?
Thank you
User avatar
Toolkitman
 
Posts: 83
Joined: Jul Mon 12, 2010 3:01 pm
Location: Venice,Italy

Re: WizNet Ethernet...

Postby Toolkitman » Nov Wed 10, 2010 4:30 pm

Thank you dex,
Does replica 1 works with the european 220 v version of secure iwifi?
I know a little of Basic can i have any chance to program an email client or ftp?
:roll:
User avatar
Toolkitman
 
Posts: 83
Joined: Jul Mon 12, 2010 3:01 pm
Location: Venice,Italy

Re: WizNet Ethernet...

Postby Toolkitman » Nov Fri 12, 2010 10:11 am

And the secure iwifi DB9 powered can works with replica 1?
Many thanks for your explanation.
:wink:
User avatar
Toolkitman
 
Posts: 83
Joined: Jul Mon 12, 2010 3:01 pm
Location: Venice,Italy


Return to Creation Room

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests