Micro-ADE Assembler

Discuss software for the Micro-KIM and KIM-1

Micro-ADE Assembler

Postby daustin777 » Aug Mon 27, 2007 12:19 am

Has anyone tried Micro-ADE?
I have a paper tape version. I've not had any luck with getting past the NEW? prompt. It's a huge listing, so if anyone is interested I'll make it available. Otherwise, the .bin is here:
http://www.hansotten.com/binary/kimmicroade.zip

Documentation here: http://www.hansotten.com/kiminfo.html
--David Austin-- replica 1 se, CFFA1, MicroKIM, [kits]
daustin777
 
Posts: 54
Joined: Nov Sun 12, 2006 3:03 pm
Location: Southern California

Postby vbriel » Aug Mon 27, 2007 6:36 am

What are the memory locations of the program? I thought this program ran in $2000- up and if that is the case, it won't work on the Micro-KIM without a memory expansion card (coming soon).

Vince
User avatar
vbriel
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1184
Joined: Jul Tue 19, 2005 12:10 pm
Location: Ohio

Postby bacon » Aug Mon 27, 2007 7:19 am

It runs at $2000 and it needs two cassette players; it loads the source code from one and saves the object code to the other, so no assembly to RAM. This makes it very impractical to use with the Micro-KIM even if a cassette interface ever sees the light of day.

Somewhere on the 6502.org site there's the scanned manual for another assembler that does assemble to RAM and only needs 4K RAM. There's no binary of the program there, but the manual includes the source, so it's possible (although tedious!) to type it into a text editor and assemble with a cross-assembler. The name of the assembler escapes me right now.

Anyway, I think I'll stick to dasm on my Linux box.
bacon
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Aug Mon 06, 2007 3:58 am

Postby Kallikak » Aug Mon 27, 2007 4:07 pm

That would be 2KSA - the two K symbolic assembler. I may even have the source in electronic format if someone wants to give it a try. (I looked at it for the Replica 1 before deciding to write Krusader)

Ken
Kallikak
 
Posts: 172
Joined: Jan Sun 29, 2006 6:42 pm
Location: Sydney

Postby vbriel » Aug Mon 27, 2007 5:35 pm

Ken, if you have it laying around, feel free to shoot it over to me and I'll try it out.

Vince
User avatar
vbriel
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1184
Joined: Jul Tue 19, 2005 12:10 pm
Location: Ohio

Postby Kallikak » Aug Mon 27, 2007 5:59 pm

OK - I should be able to dig it up. I did type it all in from the manual at one stage, so it would be a pity if I've lost it... It will have a few Replica-1 related changes, but only to the input/output routines.
Kallikak
 
Posts: 172
Joined: Jan Sun 29, 2006 6:42 pm
Location: Sydney

Postby Kallikak » Aug Tue 28, 2007 7:51 am

Found and sent.
Kallikak
 
Posts: 172
Joined: Jan Sun 29, 2006 6:42 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Micro-ADE Assembler

Postby hanso » Sep Sat 22, 2007 1:03 pm

daustin777 wrote:Has anyone tried Micro-ADE?
I have a paper tape version. I've not had any luck with getting past the NEW? prompt. It's a huge listing, so if anyone is interested I'll make it available. Otherwise, the .bin is here:
http://www.hansotten.com/binary/kimmicroade.zip

Documentation here: http://www.hansotten.com/kiminfo.html


Yup, the version on my website just does not get past the NEW? prompt. I will have to load the program again from original tape with the KIMTAPE program. Have not tried the 8K version yet, that version is using other terminal I/O routines.

Hans
hanso
 
Posts: 71
Joined: Sep Sat 22, 2007 12:35 pm
Location: Weesp The Netherlands

Postby vbriel » Sep Sat 22, 2007 2:30 pm

Just a note:

Check the code for useage with the 128bytes of 6532 RAM. If it uses that RAM, the bugfix will need to be applied. I hate errors but at least there is a fix.

I tested the original version that loads at 2000 and that appears to work with the RAM card.

Vince
User avatar
vbriel
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1184
Joined: Jul Tue 19, 2005 12:10 pm
Location: Ohio

Postby hanso » Oct Tue 02, 2007 2:59 pm

vbriel wrote:Just a note:

Check the code for useage with the 128bytes of 6532 RAM. If it uses that RAM, the bugfix will need to be applied. I hate errors but at least there is a fix.

I tested the original version that loads at 2000 and that appears to work with the RAM card.

Vince

Confirmed, the original version from my website works on the Micro-Kim!
hanso
 
Posts: 71
Joined: Sep Sat 22, 2007 12:35 pm
Location: Weesp The Netherlands

Postby Jeroen » Oct Tue 02, 2007 3:18 pm

Hey your hans otten right? Cool seeing another dutch person here. Your site rocks.
Jeroen
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Sep Fri 28, 2007 2:47 am

Postby hanso » Oct Wed 03, 2007 6:58 am

Jeroen wrote:Hey your hans otten right? Cool seeing another dutch person here. Your site rocks.

Yes, thats me!

Thanks for the compliment. Next fdiday I will also start to work with the Apple 1 Replica, dutch 6502 power!
hanso
 
Posts: 71
Joined: Sep Sat 22, 2007 12:35 pm
Location: Weesp The Netherlands

Postby Jeroen » Oct Wed 03, 2007 5:05 pm

Yay. Actually replica-1 wil be a "in between step" for my real project. Jab's acs a "retro style" 6502 computer designed by me. (name means Jeroen and Brandon's advanced computer system, in true 80's style of course :wink: )
Jeroen
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Sep Fri 28, 2007 2:47 am


Return to Software

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron