TV and/or VGA terminal

Vintage Events and off topic talk

TV and/or VGA terminal

Postby vbriel » Oct Fri 12, 2007 7:09 am

I've been thinking about making a simple TV or VGA terminal that can do color. This wouldn't be a difficult project but would require my learning to use a new microcontroller. This could be connected to a micro-KIM, replica 1 or any vintage computer with a serial port. I won't have time to work on this for a while but I've laid out the ground work already so if I do decide to make one, I've got a leg up already.

Vince
User avatar
vbriel
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1184
Joined: Jul Tue 19, 2005 12:10 pm
Location: Ohio

Postby Jeroen » Oct Fri 12, 2007 7:09 am

Ok if you make a "working version" if I have the cash i'll test it for you.
Jeroen
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Sep Fri 28, 2007 2:47 am

Postby cheese1113 » Oct Thu 25, 2007 1:26 am

Vince,

You might want to look into the Propeller microcontroller for this project. I've been playing with it for almost a year now, and i've got to say, it makes doing video a breeze!
Max Wooden
cheese1113
 
Posts: 92
Joined: Nov Sun 13, 2005 1:49 am
Location: CA

Postby vbriel » Oct Thu 25, 2007 6:45 am

I'm on it! Actually, I got a late start on it but this will be the engine for it. The drivers are done so it will make completing a board a snap.

Actually, I've been thinking of using the prop for the video and serial I/O in the future. I'm not sure if it can do 40X24 yet (haven't seen a driver) but it could help reduce chip count in future replica's.

Vince
User avatar
vbriel
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1184
Joined: Jul Tue 19, 2005 12:10 pm
Location: Ohio

Postby Jeroen » Oct Thu 25, 2007 11:05 am

Damn I was gonna suggest it. But I forgot. (it' s for a project of me and iam, called blackbox)
Jeroen
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Sep Fri 28, 2007 2:47 am

Postby iam7805 » Oct Thu 25, 2007 6:01 pm

Vince,

This source code for the Prop allows 40x24 text display on a TV (the source is written for NTSC but it's easy enough to change it to PAL if needed). Of course it can do color if you want.

http://forums.parallax.com/forums/defau ... 1&m=220192

Using the Prop as the video terminal and serial I/O is a really good idea. If you haven't yet, look at the specs of the Prop. The features it has are more then enough, and the 8 cogs will allows the tasks to be performed simultaneously. A bidirectional serial driver is included with the Propeller software. It really could be implemented as a Super I/O chip.

Kind of related, I'm thinking of designing a floppy I/O card using the Propeller.

-iam
IRC Channel: homebrew-computer-club on SorceryNet. Discuss all retro computers and replica/tribute computers!

ROSES ARE #FF0000
VIOLETS ARE #0000FF
ALL MY BASE
ARE BELONG TO YOU
User avatar
iam7805
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Oct Sun 21, 2007 10:30 am

Postby Jeroen » Oct Fri 26, 2007 12:56 am

Don't you dare Brandon!
Jeroen
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Sep Fri 28, 2007 2:47 am

Postby cheese1113 » Oct Fri 26, 2007 1:47 am

Vince, check out this driver, it should be what you are looking for.

Edit: Looks like iam7805 posted the link already!
Max Wooden
cheese1113
 
Posts: 92
Joined: Nov Sun 13, 2005 1:49 am
Location: CA

Postby vbriel » Oct Fri 26, 2007 12:29 pm

Yes, I'm going to look at that driver, should do the trick. This would reduce the chip count down to just a few chips. Right now he has the driver setup for the hydra and I have the protoboard. I need to modify it to work at 5MHz or change the crystal to 10mhz on the proto board which I really don't want to do right now.

I have a chip and a 10MHz crystal setup, I should just build that setup to match the hydra and try the driver out.

Vince
User avatar
vbriel
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1184
Joined: Jul Tue 19, 2005 12:10 pm
Location: Ohio

Postby Jeroen » Oct Fri 26, 2007 1:24 pm

Your not thinking of yet another revision of the replica-1 are you?
Jeroen
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Sep Fri 28, 2007 2:47 am

Postby vbriel » Oct Fri 26, 2007 1:42 pm

Not for a while, I've got too much other stuff to do.
Max: I found the working driver.

Vince
User avatar
vbriel
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1184
Joined: Jul Tue 19, 2005 12:10 pm
Location: Ohio

Postby Jeroen » Oct Fri 26, 2007 2:39 pm

It's ok then. Btw propellor's are pretty cheap like 12 bux a pop.
Jeroen
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Sep Fri 28, 2007 2:47 am

Postby fsafstrom » Oct Sun 28, 2007 12:27 am

Or just get the Propeller Protoboard and accessory kit for VGA and Keyboard/mouse. ;-)
Then add a Max3232 for serial so you can hook it up to your Replica...

Image

The plan is to turn the protoboard into a terminal, the hardware works but the software is not written yet...
User avatar
fsafstrom
 
Posts: 154
Joined: Dec Tue 26, 2006 2:57 pm
Location: San Antonio, Texas

Postby vbriel » Oct Sun 28, 2007 6:19 am

I wrote a terminal program already but it is using the old TV text drivers. This new 40X24 or 40X25 drivers being worked on will be even better for this project.

By the way, I have the same protoboard, it is really a good value prototyping board. Looks like you used a RS232 level decoder? Did you see the RS232 schematics using the transistors?

Vince
User avatar
vbriel
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1184
Joined: Jul Tue 19, 2005 12:10 pm
Location: Ohio

Postby fsafstrom » Oct Sun 28, 2007 11:05 am

Nope, didn't see the transistor version...

I do use a transistor for the reset switch, the same circuit as I posted earlier,
http://www.brielcomputers.com/phpBB2/vi ... .php?t=310
User avatar
fsafstrom
 
Posts: 154
Joined: Dec Tue 26, 2006 2:57 pm
Location: San Antonio, Texas

Next

Return to Venues, projects and off topic stuff - NO SPAM

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron