Micro-Kim not quite there yet... 1uF capacitor polarity?

Discuss problems with your Micro-KIM here

Micro-Kim not quite there yet... 1uF capacitor polarity?

Postby blatboy » Mar Thu 01, 2012 10:48 pm

I had a wonderful time putting together my Micro-Kim but sadly I can't seem to get it to work. It's the same symptom that many others have had. The power LED's on, but no one is at home. (The segments don't light up when reset is pressed)

This was my first "serious" PCB project, though I've had some experience with beginner "learn to solder" projects and I've built a lot of audio cables for my studio. So, I'm sure my job on the Micro-Kim wasn't stellar. I did double check my work and it seems while the job isn't beautiful, everything seems to check out. I've also brought it to someone who works in electronics and he thought it looked ok.

In my research and troubleshooting, it seems I had a printout of rev 1 of the manual, and I'm curious if perhaps I put my 1uF capacitor in backwards. Since I've already installed it, I can't tell how long the leads were. There is a "35+" on one side of the capacitor. Is that "+" is referring to the lead it is closest to? If so, that would make me think the "+" should also be closer to the outside of the board, yes? If this is indeed the case, then mine is in backwards. However, before I remove it and turn it around I wanted to see if I'm reading this correctly.

I've had the power on for at most 20 minutes while testing, and nothing exploded, so that's why I'm unsure if I'm incorrect on this. (Tho perhaps I've been frying everything? oy.)